Timber Lakes Water Special Service District

450 W 910 S Suite 100

Heber City, UT 84032

435-654-0125

Meeting via Zoom due to Covid-19

January 17, 2023

Board Meeting Minutes

<u>Chairperson</u>: Neil Anderton called for the meeting to come to order at 5:00 pm with the following attendees.

Board Attendees: Neil Anderton, Michael Wheelwright, John Blickenstaff, Gary Cannon, Steve Farrell, Roger LeFevre, Reg Anderson, excused, Jake McPhie, excused

Other Attendees: Jody Defa, Timber Lakes Water System Manager, Michelle Embry, Office Manager, Candy Hoffard, Administrative Assistant, Wyatt Andersen and Justin Dietrich of Bowen-Collins Associates

Prayer/Remark: John Blickenstaff offered a prayer.

Concerns/Issues from TLPOA: Kathy McGregor, liaison for the TLPOA, not present

Public Comments: None present

<u>Election of 2023 Board Officers</u>: John Blickenstaff made a motion to nominate Neil Anderton as chair. It was seconded by Gary Cannon and passed unanimously.

Neil Anderton made a motion to nominate John Blickenstaff as vice chair. It was seconded by Steve Farrell and passed unanimously.

John Blickenstaff made a motion to nominate Gary Cannon as clerk. It was seconded by Steve Farrell and passed unanimously.

Steve Farrell made a motion to nominate Michael Wheelwright as treasurer. It was seconded by John Blickenstaff and passed unanimously.

<u>Approval of December 2022 Minutes</u>: A motion was made by John Blickenstaff to approve the December 13, 2022 meeting minutes as written. It was seconded by Michael Wheelwright and passed unanimously.

<u>Approval of January 2023 Warrants</u>: After review and discussion, a motion was made by Gary Cannon to approve the warrant list 14767-14789, including ACH payments for January and the credit card payment for December. The motion was seconded by Steve Farrell and passed unanimously.

<u>Ratify December/January Payroll</u>: John Blickenstaff made a motion to ratify the payrolls previously approved by two board members for pay periods ending 12/24/2022 and 1/7/2023. The motion was seconded by Neil Anderton and passed unanimously.

Approval of Utah Retirement Benefits 2023: Steve Farrell made a motion to approve the current retirement contributions for 2023 with Tier 1 rate of 17.9% + 3.2% for 401K for 1 employee and Tier 2 rate of 16.69% + 3.2% for 401K for 4 employees. The motion was seconded by John Blickenstaff and passed unanimously.

<u>Water Manager Report</u>: Jody has been in contact with 120 Water. They are inventorying lead and copper in our systems. The District must present findings and begin implementing a plan to meet EPA standards by 2024.

The water crew continues to dig out fire hydrants, often having to use a metal detector to find the hydrants due to so much snow, and the road crew, and private driveway plowers, pushing snow onto the hydrants when clearing the roads. There is now so much snow, the flags mounted on the hydrants are being laid down and buried. John Blickenstaff will speak with Kathy McGregor, liaison for the TLPOA, about the situation.

<u>Rate Change Proposal</u>: Wyatt Andersen and Justin Dietrich of Bowen-Collins Associates presented a slide show of the District's capital improvement projects needing to be accomplished and different scenarios on ways to fund those projects. After much discussion, the board agreed to have Bowen-Collins draw up a final rate structure to present at the February public hearing for rate increase.

Set Rate Hearing Date: John Blickenstaff made a motion to set the public hearing for rate increase for February 21, 2023 at 6:00p.m. at the Wasatch County Building and via zoom. It was seconded by Steve Farrell and passed unanimously.

Other Business: Steve Farrell made a motion to authorize the office staff to research the Water Assistance Program through the state. It was seconded by John Blickenstaff and passed unanimously.

Executive Session: Neil Anderton stated that there was no reason to enter executive session.

Steve Farrell made a motion at 7:11 pm to adjourn the meeting. It was seconded by John Blickenstaff and passed unanimously.

Neil Anderton: Aye Michael Wheelwright: Aye John Blickenstaff: Aye Roger LeFevre: Aye